Linking my Midi controller to my PC.

Reaction score
I want to connect my Midi controller keyboard to my Computer. I have no need for recording facilities but want to access Piano and Organ sounds to be played in real time for use with a trio. I'm new to Keyboards (less than a year) so could someone advise me please, what software do I need. I'm Ok with the connections.

Reaction score
Hi happyrat1, The Keyboard is quite old, it's a Terratec TMP1. I've been using it midi'd into my Roland Guitar Synth but I'm not getting the percussive organ sound I want. The Computer is a P4 running Windows XP. Thanks for responding.

Reaction score
Hey John,

So what i'm getting is you're trying to just get a piano/organ sound that's midi controlled from your keyboard into your computer. This would mean you'd either need a DAW (digital audio workstation) like Cubase or Reaper (reaper is free..) with VSTs (virtual studio technology) which are like mini programs that emulate sounds, OR just the VST stand-alone program itself. There are dozens of these available, some are far more complex than others.

I currently use the program Reason to get the Piano tone I want (reason has upgrade packs called 'Re-fills' that have hundreds of new sounds, I'm using the 'Reason Pianos' refill that has a bunch of steinway and Yamaha grand piano patches that sound great).

after doing a quick search, 'Pianoteq' might be a relatively cheap solution to getting nice sound piano tones
https://www.pianoteq.com/

hope this helps!

-Tuomas
https://www.tuomaseaston.com/

Reaction score