Longtime Player... But Don't Know Much About Keyboard Gear + Synth vs Keyboard?

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I've been playing for about 10 years, and I had always had an (acoustic? regular) piano to play. Well when I moved out I couldn't really bring the piano with me.

My parents bought me an older, used Alesis keyboard, and it's OK (kind of s****** as a piano goes, w/e haha) but in the middle somewhere, I picked up guitar and started playing more "punk/indie" type stuff with a band, and now we play out quite a bit it is a pain in the a** to lug this thing around. Seriously weighs probably 50 pounds and it takes up quite a lot of room in a vehicle.

SO, what I'm looking for:

-Relatively compact, but not TOO small. Maybe more than 3 octaves would be a decent baseline.
-Good variety of effects. A couple strings, one or two solid piano tones, some synth-y stuff, and maybe some more unique sounds
-Something that can plug in mono (for looper). The Alesis has to be plugged in stereo, with an L and R.
-Not using this to play anything technically demanding

And honestly, this is so noob, but what is the difference between a SYNTH and a KEYBOARD? If I'm going for a non-piano tone most of the time, is a synth better?

Thank you!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Technically words like synth and keyboard and even electronic piano are thrown around pretty much interchangeably by marketing geeks these days.

Essentially all electronic keyboards are synths of one sort or another and what matters more is the TYPE of synthesis they use, be it PCM, or Subtractive or Analog or FM or PM or Samplers or any of the types used in the past 40 years.

Most modern electronic pianos and synths these days use PCM and hence are called ROMplers which are basically sampled sounds stored in a ROM chip.

As for recommending a specific synth for your purposes I'd recommend a Roland Juno DS88.