Looking At Online Courses and Approaches, Thoughts?

Reaction score
I am more rusty than I'd like to admit on my playing and there are a few questions I'd like to ask that may sound like the answers are obvious but please remember people learn differently and what sounds like an obvious choice or disastrous approach for you may be different or a great approach for someone else. People tell me I'm odd all the time so I'm use to it :).

1. I want to brush up/firm up my piano and keyboard playing. As a child I took piano for a year and did well and learned to read. Since then I have played and composed almost entirely by ear which has served me pretty well but I'm looking at Playground Sessions online and it looks pretty good and I think it could help me in many areas. Thoughts?

2. I play guitar as well and went about learning it in an almost identical fashion as piano minus learning to read. 1 year lessons then self taught.

I'm considering mirroring my lessons and spending equal time on what I am learning on both instruments each day/week. Part of me thinks this would be a fantastic idea and another part of me is unsure. Thoughts?

3. I'm just wondering if there is a resource, website or a YouTube channel that features accurate tutorials & charts for some of the classic songs that feature old school vintage style keys. I'm talking the Clavinet, Wurlitzer, Rhodes Electric, Hammond B 3/4 Organ and the like.

I was just on Soniccouture's site admiring their Broken Wurli. If you open up the menu of available sound demos, it has a really nice selection of tunes featuring their Broken Wurli. I'd love to learn as many of those as I can.

Any help would be appreciated in finding sheet music or charts for those songs and songs in the same vein (Dr. John's "Right Place Wrong Time" just popped to mind!

Thank you all for your input, suggestions and support!

Randy

Reaction score