Looking to Buy a Cheap Better Keyboard

Reaction score
Hey guys, I was hoping you guys could help me find a better keyboard than the one I have now, but in a cheap price(usually i see 800 dollars). I don't need that great of a keyboard right now since I kind just started but I need help.

I have a Yamaha Portatone PSR-78, my mom had it for herself when i was 5 but i picked it up around 4-5 months ago. I'm looking for a better keyboard, but anywhere from the price range of $0 - $500, if possible or close it that range.

Thanks!

Reaction score
What do you want to do with your keyboard? Do you want to have many sounds, or mainly a Piano sound? Do you want weighted or lightweighted keys?

If you want a lightweighted keyboard with a lot of sounds, I would recommend the Yamaha DGX-220 (I'm not really an expert when it comes to choosing keyboards, but I own this one, and think it might work great for begginers. It has built in speakers as well, so you don't need to buy any separate speakers)

http://www.thomann.de/gb/yamaha_dgx220.htm

If you want fewer sounds, but with better quality, and weighted keys, then you're probably looking for a Stage Piano. This one was the cheapest I could find that still look rather serious.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/maudio_prokeys_88_sx.htm

That one has no built-in speakers, though... So you will need to have speakers for it, or a headset.
I found another one too, that might be of interest:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/maudio_prokeys_88.htm

That one is slightly more expensive, but gives you more opportunities with more sounds, splitting/layering funtionality, a few more effects, a screen so that you can see what you're doing, and a few sliders. No built-in speakers on this one either, though.

I hope that helped :)

Reaction score
Great!

In the future I'll be buying myself alot of stuff, but right now I'm looking for just one thing to upgrade with.

Thanks alot! I am looking at the Yamaha DGX-220 right now

Reaction score