Mainstage 3 alternative for ipad?

Reaction score
What is a comparable alternative for mainstage 3 that I can use on an iPad. This would be used in live performances. Most important are a wide variety of piano, keyboards, etc. as well as some orchestra strings horns, etc. Thanks

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
There's an app called KeyStage. I have no experience with either MainStage or KeyStage, so I don't know how similar or dissimilar they are. But there is a free KeyStage Lite version that you could try to see if it can do what you're looking for. I don't know whether KeyStage comes with any virtual instruments; I suspect that you must supply your own.

If you like the virtual instruments that come with MainStage, and if it's okay to have a Mac with you, Apple makes an iPad app that lets you remotely control Logic Pro that they say will also work with MainStage.

Reaction score
What is a comparable alternative for mainstage 3 that I can use on an iPad. This would be used in live performances. Most important are a wide variety of piano, keyboards, etc. as well as some orchestra strings horns, etc. Thanks
For live performance, Mainstage is basically a combination of two things: (1) A program that allows you to manage the routing of your MIDI keyboards to play/split/layer different hardware and software sounds at different times, and (2) a library of actual sounds that you can play. On the iPad, this would require a minimum of two apps, one for each task. Though it's possible that task #2 might be the only one you need to worry about, depending on answers to some questions:

* will all your sounds be coming from the iPad? Or will you also be playing sounds that are built into your keyboard (or some other MIDI source)?

* will you be playing only one sound at a time, or will you be splitting/layering multiple sounds?