Making and using backing tracks with keyboard?

Reaction score
Hi to all - I'm newthe forum and need some advice.
my questions may have been answered before but some may be more specific. I am a novice keyboard player but play guitar in a band that just lost its keys man.
I want to use a keyboard to play commercially available MIDI backing tracks and also create my own using an onboard sequencer preferably 16 track type.
I have a limited budget of $1000 - 1500 and have been considering the yamaha PSR 710, and Korg PA500 series arranger keyboards. At the other end of the spectrum I've been considering the Korg M50 workstation.
I like songs that have synth effects for example the intro to Money For Nothing by Dire Straits. Here is my problem I am hoping someone can help with.....
I can build tracks on an arranger keyboard and play them back on this keyboard exactly as recorded, but will likely not be able to create certain synth sounds on this keyboard unless it has these effects avilable in its patch set. I can also get pre-made songs off (for example) the Yamaha Musicsoft site but unless my unit can play back the same patches as the unit the song was created on the playback will be not exactly the same.
If I use a Korg M50 it might have the capabiltity of great synth and arpeggiated riffs but it may or may not play back pre-recorded MIDI songs and it is unlikely it will have the ability to play back a file created on an arranger keyboard. Am I correct or can someone throw light on the best way for me to go within this budget. Thanks.

The Y_man

Reaction score
The M50 can definitely take on a midi file. See page 93 of the manual
http://www.korg.com/uploads/Support/M50_OM_E3_633640857467707404.pdf

Also remember you can do the sequencing on a pc, and carry over the mid file to a keyboard too.