Midi Controller for your CX-3 Drawbars (Korg Kronos)

Discussion in 'Korg Keyboards' started by Perilous, May 7, 2017.

  1. Perilous

    Perilous

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey everyone,

    I'm six years late, but in case there are any musicians out there trying to find a solution for the organ drawbars on the Korg Kronos, I have a solution for you. I have programmed 19 System Exclusive Control Maps that work for the Roland A-Pro Series (300, 500, 800). If you already have one of these controllers, message me and I'll send you all the codes. If you don't have this controller, I have the entire bundle for sale on my Reverb shop:

    https://reverb.com/shop/philips-boutique-8

    Sysex files can only be sent via a 5-pin MIDI cable, which means using a USB cable is a no-go. The price fluctuates depending on how cheap I can acquire these A-Pros. Power adapter and Midi cable is included!

    Here is a video on how it all works:



    Again, I am more than happy to share any codes, but if you want all of this functionality in one purchase, this is your shop stop. The Roland A-800 is a great controller for your Kronos. It's lightweight and can withstand a beating.

    All the codes look something like this:
    F0 42 30 68 43 1C 0B 00 04 00 00 00 DT F7

    Please let me know if there are other Midi Controllers with 61-keys that can transmit 7bit sysex codes. The Novation SL controllers can, but I couldn't figure out the software.
    If at any point my shop has no inventory, please contact me, as I possibly have more on the way. Thank you!
     
    Perilous, May 7, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Perilous

    delaware dave

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    90
    I know that you need sysex for Roland gear but I was under the impression that Korg used standard CC values for the drawbars. The upper drawbars respond to cc 16-24 and the lower drawbars respond to cc 70-78. So why would I want to fool with the archaic programming of sysex messages?
     
    delaware dave, May 28, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Perilous

    Perilous

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    I suspect other Korg keyboards do respond to standard CC, but from what I've tested and read online, the drawbars of the CX-3 engine in the Korg Kronos do not respond to CC. This has been a frustration for a few Kronos owners out there (especially me). I figured out all of the sysex messages, so if anyone needs the codes, I can help.
     
    Perilous, May 29, 2017
    #3
  4. Perilous

    Mark Edwards

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 30, 2017
    Mark Edwards, Aug 30, 2017
    #4
  5. Perilous

    Perilous

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    Cool! I sent a PM/Conversation.
     
    Perilous, Aug 30, 2017
    #5
  6. Perilous

    b3keys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Or... one could lug around a CX3 :) (want one, I've got one).... I ALSO have a "Viscount D9 (DB3) module. This was the company that made the old Oberheim OB3 (which I see are selling for a premium on Reverb).
    Now, I think, (for their day).. these guys did a pretty fair job of B3 clone.... but, time marches on. I would think however that one of these modules should send the CC codes out the midi port... (anyone wants to take a chance and try it.... PM me... I'm not using the CX3 or the DB3 anymore... I gave up and went Hammond).. IF the viscount module would do it... it would give you drawbars AND another organ layer.
     
    b3keys, Sep 1, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Gerry Peters

    B4 organ - move drawbars during recording?

    Gerry Peters, Mar 28, 2006, in forum: cakewalk.audio
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    335
    Gerry Peters
    Mar 29, 2006
  2. zorag

    Korg Kronos

    zorag, Jan 13, 2011, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,977
    Skipp
    Jan 26, 2011
  3. dspellman

    New Korg Kronos or Old Korg Oasys?

    dspellman, Sep 7, 2011, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,866
    vintagecat
    Sep 8, 2011
  4. ktheo86
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,793
    ktheo86
    Dec 27, 2011
  5. Abhishek Ramchandani

    MIDI error in sequencer mode-Korg Kronos. Help!

    Abhishek Ramchandani, Aug 5, 2012, in forum: MIDI
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,063
    happyrat1
    Aug 6, 2012
  6. theboyfromthenorth

    Juno Stage Drawbars/Tone Wheels

    theboyfromthenorth, Feb 22, 2013, in forum: Roland Keyboards
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,284
    theboyfromthenorth
    Feb 22, 2013
  7. Jericho79
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,297
    happyrat1
    May 29, 2014
  8. Mrspock13

    Kronos + Controller??

    Mrspock13, Jul 9, 2015, in forum: Korg Keyboards
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    761
    Fred Coulter
    Sep 5, 2016
Loading...