Midi File Help

Reaction score
I've created a simple 8 measure piece using MusicScore version 2.1 and when I load that midi file into my Yamaha DGX-660, the score isn't the same. It's mostly OK, but there are differences, some significant. I also tried to load a midi file from the CD that came with the book Alfred's Group Piano For Adults Book 2 and found that the score differed significantly.

I'm a newbie, so I'm not sure if this is a common occurrence or not.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated. I tried to upload the midi file, but it wasn't allowed.

Thanks in advance.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Standard MIDI files don't contain much in the way of voice data. What they contain is note value and duration and basic patch numbers and not much else.

This means that they will vary greatly in sound texture depending on which sound engine you play them on.

As a rule of thumb, if you want a MIDI to sound exactly as recorded you have to play it on the instrument you recorded it on.

Otherwise, while a MID file may specify a grand piano sound for a patch, the tone of the piano will depend greatly on how good the piano sound of your instrument is.

To further complicate matters, GM format only specifies a single bank of 128 sounds. If a MIDI file was created on a DAW in a format which includes extended bank info these extra banks will be truncated or translated to the minimal GM bank.

There are ways around this such as including sysex data (system exclusive) but these will only play properly on the devices they were written for,

So to answer your question, this is nothing to freak out about and is pretty much normal for all MIDI devices.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
I was hoping the note values would be the same to help me practice. I got all excited when I discovered I could load my class's repertoire piece into the piano and slow the tempo down. It's still better than nothing.

Thanks for your help.

SeaGtGruff