MIDI help with Roland V-Synth GT & Korg Trinity

Reaction score
Well, after several days of reading owners manuals and an excellent thread by kanthos, I am getting closer towards configuring my two keyboard MIDI setup for live performances.

I've been a keyboardist for 20 years, and in the late 1990's, as the keyboardist for Altura, I actually had a fairly complex MIDI setup. But after selling all of my keyboards in the early 2000's when the band dismantled, I started playing guitar and just recently decided to get back into synth. This month I purchased a Roland V-Synth GT, Korg Trinity, and Korg Triton Studio on eBay and I'm trying to program the V-Synth and Trinity for live performances starting next month.

I want to make the V-Synth the master and the Trinity the slave, and simply use the V-Synth to make combi changes on the Trinity. I want to use a single sustain pedal and expression pedal for both keyboards, plugged into the V-Synth. I don't want sounds from one keyboard to be played on the other, but simply to use MIDI as a means of synchronizing patches for live songs.

I have the MIDI cable plugged into the OUT jack on the V-Synth and the IN jack on the Trinity. I have the V-Synth set to receive on MIDI channel 1 and to transmit on MIDI channel 2. I have the Trinity's Global MIDI channel set to 2. Both keyboards are set to enable Bank, Program, and Combination changes in Global Settings.

As I change sounds on the V-Synth, the Trinity does change combis to the same number program as the V-Synth, and the sustain pedal works for both keyboards. However, I can play Trinity sounds through the V-Synth, and I can't figure out how to disable that.