midi leads

Discussion in 'MIDI' started by andy eaastwood, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. andy eaastwood

    andy eaastwood

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    worcester england uk
    can anyone assit me please.trying to obtain a set of midi leads to connect my ymaha eltone (el90) organ to a pc.drawn a blank everywhere so far

    many thanks

    andy
     
    andy eaastwood, Nov 4, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. andy eaastwood

    John Garside

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Wellingborough, UK
    Try searching on Amazon or Ebay for MIDI "cable" rather than lead and you should find loads.

    John.
     
    John Garside, Nov 4, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. andy eaastwood

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,779
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    What you require is a USB/MIDI adaptor, typically selling anywhere $5 and $40 depending on which one you choose.

    https://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&fi...&sourceid=Mozilla-search&tag=wwwcanoniccom-20

    Typically they all function the same so it's not generally worth spending more than $5 on one however the cheap chinese $5 units do tend to suffer a lot of infant mortality which can prove frustrating at times.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Nov 4, 2016
    #3
  4. andy eaastwood

    andy eaastwood

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    worcester england uk
    gentlemen thank you for your fast replies.....still no joy !! the underside of the el90 has phono connections (not din) these i am familiar with on my tyros 5
    does anyone if i can connect a phono to a 5pin din and go backwards almost,will i get midi and will there be a need for some software

    again many thanks

    andy
     
    andy eaastwood, Nov 4, 2016
    #4
  5. andy eaastwood

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,779
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    I'm at a loss. Page 108 of the manual clearly states that all you require is standard MIDI cables.

    http://download.yamaha.com/search/p...ry_id2=16423&category_id3=&product_id=1439260

    However nowhere in that crappy manual can I find the location of those MIDI ports.

    My advice would be to contact Yamaha directly and ask them what the heck is going on.

    They may be hidden away internally somewhere where you'd have to remove an access panel or something.

    Frankly there's no way in hell a simple 2 pin RCA jack could act as a fully functional 5 pin MIDI DIN port.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Nov 4, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Sargas

    Sharing is Caring! Rudess & Moore leads for the M50

    Sargas, Aug 27, 2009, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,600
    Burn4Him
    Aug 7, 2010
  2. robthehoood

    Taking velocity off leads!

    robthehoood, Feb 12, 2010, in forum: General Keyboard Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    651
    robthehoood
    Feb 12, 2010
  3. O_Zean
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    774
    O_Zean
    Jul 15, 2003
  4. O_Zean

    CUBASE; fix your MIDI problem NOW: early midi notes

    O_Zean, Oct 16, 2003, in forum: alt.steinberg.cubase
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,889
    O_Zean
    Oct 19, 2003
  5. Vin
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,162
  6. Dan W
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    676
    Dan W
    Oct 8, 2004
  7. Robot Band

    Korg Leads + Roland Strings + Fun Beats

    Robot Band, Aug 17, 2011, in forum: My Music
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    961
    Achtung_dude
    Oct 10, 2011
Loading...