MIDI newbie

Reaction score
Hi, Although I've been playing keyboards for forty odd years I'm an absolute beginner to MIDI. I have a Korg SV1 piano and a Hammond XK 2 single manual organ. For the first time I am trying to connect them both via MIDI. I've connected the two midi cables in and out. Forgive my ignorance but I can't get my head around channels. What I want to achieve if possible is to say play a piano voice on the Korg and at the same time play a synth sound also from the Korg but on the Hammond. When I connect both keyboards at the moment I can only seem to play the same sound/voice on both keyboards at the same time. I've tried looking at the instruction guides but they are not much help! Im very 'old school' so any help would very welcome. Many thanks,

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Looking at the manual for the Korg, it appears the SV-1 can send and receive on only one channel, and I don't see any mention of splitting the keyboard to play two different sounds at the same time, so I'm thinking there's no way to do what you want unless you use a computer or smart interface box as a go-between, as follows:

Korg SV-1 <==Channel1==> computer/box <==Channels1,2,3==> Hammond XK-2

The channel numbers shown are completely arbitrary, so you could use different ones if you want, but the Korg can send/receive one channel (and uses channel 1 by default unless you change and save the default), and the Hammond can send/receive three channels (upper manual, lower manual, and pedal keyboard).

You would turn off the Local Control setting of the Korg so it wouldn't make any sound when you play it; instead, it would send its Note On/Off events to the computer or smart interface box on channel 1.