MIDI over network

Reaction score
In 2018 I got the idea to write a simple program to send MIDI over a network (local network and internet) for controlling a MIDI instrument connected to a remote pc (think classroom setup scenario). I wrote it (very simple concept demonstrator) and it worked well. Then I got no interest from anyone so I abandoned the project. Since then I have seen other people looking for something like this and I was wondering if I should rewrite it and release it to the community. This is NOT going to let you jam live over the internet with other musicians - the internet latency is way too high for most people. But it will allow you to demonstrate keys and music theory to students (since the latency is not an issue) or even play live instruments on a LOCAL network (my local wifi network gives me 1ms latency, so I can play live if needed). Who wants this? Who needs this? Does anyone want me to to revive this project? I am a programmer and this will be a Windows only program (I don't have a Mac). My plan would be to release this free. This is actually a rediculously easy program to write and I can easily write other variations of this is anyone has any ideas. Music teachers - this would be perfect for what you do!

Reaction score
Edit - I know RTP-MIDI exists but that's a complicated setup that not everyone can do (like students). This is a standalone program to control a connected MIDI device/instrument without the need for somebody to have any technical knowledge other than entering the remote ip address. Add to this a simple click to modify the remote ip and it's reconfigured again.

Flow: local instrument ==> local pc ==> internet/network ==> remote pc ==> remote instrument

So keys on the local instrument are passed to the remote instrument via network and both instruments keys are displayed on screen.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I'd think it sounds like a useful tool to release for free. :)

Reaction score