MIDI sequencer as Juke machine?

Reaction score
I'm an older musician (69, a former cocktail pianist) getting back into MIDI after years away. Is anyone out there using their PC sequencer as a juke machine? Since my hands are almost useless for decent playing anymore, I've set up my home studio as my private band/orchestra to play back midi files for jazz, pop and classical songs. Using Anvil Studio, which allows use of long midi playlists, I've collected the best free downloads across the internet that I've found and play back hours of jazz trios, jazz bands, concerto piano and full classical orchestral sequences. I'm using a Suzuki GP-3, a Suzuki CTP-88, Yamaha TG-300 and Roland SC-88 Pro for keyboards/modules on playback. I often think I'm the only "mad musician" out there using the technology this way. But there's got to be other technie nerds out there. If you've pursued this, please let me know. After playing in big stage bands, having control of my own band without the grief is certainly appealing. But after a year of covid isolation, I often think I'm the only nut out there doing this. But it's an area of MIDI that I don't seen discussed on the forums.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
If you're using Anvil Studio, did you purchase the Pro-Mix addon module that lets you sequence different tracks to different instruments at the same time, or are you sequencing to just one instrument at a time?

The reason I ask is because the free SynthFont1 program lets you sequence different tracks to different instruments at the same time without needing to buy an addon module. It isn't a DAW, because it doesn't let you record tracks the way a DAW does, but it does let you create new tracks using a piano roll editor, or edit existing tracks.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I have thousands of MID files I've picked up over the years and every once in a while I cue them up using this program.