Mp3

Reaction score
Hi. I'm an electronics design engineer, and I'm amazed that I can't find any way. To make an mp3 for say my car playback from tyros 5 recordings onboard? I'm more at home on a circuit board than around the front lol if it can't be done. I find this bizzar ? am I getting dementia ". Or is it easy. ". Thank you

Reaction score
Welcome.

Yamaha are pretty good at looking at industry standard specifications, then doing their own thing.

Your Tyros does MP3 recording but I cannot see at what data rate it does it, suggest you look into this, the manual does say max song size of 300KB whatever that means.

Your car stereo may well have limits to what it can playback with probably an MP3 being recorded at a specific rate in a data range of 96-320 mbps.

A workaround would be to record to a PC or Mac and then process the audio file to suit.

I ripped my CD’s to MP3 at a data rate of 320mbps and they sound pretty good at that, not as good as a WAV or AIFF but it is as good as you get with an MP3.

Reaction score
Thank you sir. Very helpful. Why they couldn't just give an option to make your recordings to the USB stick beggers believe cheers

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
You could always record directly into a computer and generate an MP3 with 44.1 KHz sample rate and then put it on a USB stick.

Reaction score
Hi here is my set up. And computer is the way to go. Your right. Thank you
IMG20230427190645.jpg

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
This is my setup and I agree...

studio-23-20230108t153218-0010-jpg.3026

Why on earth do you have that gigantic mixing board? :)

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Lol I have 24 out 24 back from the digital zoom recording kit and use it with my friends band and usually run out of inputs so I have a smaller 12 out and return. It's great to have all the control

Reaction score