multiple keyboards

Reaction score
If you have one keyboard, what's the point of having two or more? Do you just hook each of them up to a separate amp and keep them at the gig for multiple sounds? (piano, organ, synth parts?)

Can you hook them up in a series via audio or MIDI cables and get all the effects /sounds to work together? Can you get twice as many layers/polyphony?

A newby wants to know. (Still have only ONE keyboard.)

Reaction score
hehehe... it didn't make any sense to me either when I started playing.

The thing is some keyboards are better for a particular range of sounds.
For example... Yamaha has brilliant pianos and acoustics while Korg has great
strings and pads.

When on live gig, I often need to switch between sounds very quickly, and
I manage my way just fine, but if I had another keyboard it would be much easier
since I'd put 2-3 most used sounds on it.

oh yea... and it's easier to find a sound that resembles the most the original one
when you have more sounds to choose from :)

Reaction score
When on live gig, I often need to switch between sounds very quickly, and
I manage my way just fine, but if I had another keyboard it would be much easier
since I'd put 2-3 most used sounds on it.

that's what I thought. That seems to be the biggest weakness of ALL keyboards... the difficulty of switching /accessing different sounds. It's only important if you're playing live I spose.

Reaction score
When on live gig, I often need to switch between sounds very quickly,

So each keybd is hooked up to its own amp? Or is there a way of connecting them with cables?

What about MIDI? What is "Midi Thru"?

Reaction score
Hi Laura,