Musical Newb

Reaction score
Hi members,

I am completely new to anything musically related. For years and years and I have always wanted to to learn how to play a keyboard, this is the first time I've actually even registered on a musical related forum. I'm hoping to get answers because I always talk myself out of taking the next step and I don't know if this is the first of many to come but I listen to users demonstrate these amazing digital keyboards and synths and I'm sort of mesmerized.

I recently been ogling over the Roland Juno Di, literally drooling, and trying to figure out what is involved with such a purchase, what all is needed to actually get started etc. Can it connect to my home stereo system, those types of questions. I started looking at the Yamaha PSR-E433 and now I'm starting to budget for say the Juno Di or Gi, can't seem to stop or rather don't know here to stop because I'm thinking for a little bit more I can have this and it sounds awesome on YouTube etc...

I'm in serious need of direction, I've never touch a piano or keyboard before, not even hitting a key ever. Any help would greatly be appreciated before I break the bank and make a really bad purchase.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
With the proper cabling and adapters you can connect a Juno Di or Gi to a home stereo system. The signals are all line level so they are electrically compatible.

All you really need are a couple of TRS 1/4" Mono plugs to Mono RCA cables. About 10 ft. would be a good length for home use.

This is assuming that your home stereo is good quality. A crappy boom box kind of arrangement might not have enough dynamic headroom to cover the Roland's output.

A better arrangement though, would be to hook it thru a cheap mixer like a Behringer Xenyx 502 or Xenyx 1002FX and run the tape out of the stereo thru the mixer as well and input the output from that to the Tape 2 monitor if your stereo has one.