My First Korg

Reaction score
Hello, New guy hear.
i've been playing Piano/Keyboards for 7 years now, i own Yamaha's and Rolands.
but haven't dived into any Korgs, so.. i was thinking of buying my first Korg.
my choices are The Korg Krome EX61, The Korg Triton Pro X88 or the Korg Triton Extreme 88
i just cant seem to choose.
i used to be a gigger, but since the pandemic. just been a Home studio guy, with my Juno Ds88
which Korg would be the best for my 1st Korg?
please share your thoughts :)
I would appreciate it.

Reaction score
Welcome.

The Krome Ex has received a fair amount of adverse comments on the Korg forum for it only being a cosmetic upgrade to the prior version. That said it is a very capable keyboard that I sort of wished I had bought instead of the Kross 2 that I ended up with.

Korg being Korg do have very easy and most often free updates to their keyboards. In the case of the Krome the Triton and M1sound packs can be loaded into it so you can get three keyboards in one.
Luke from Korg UK shows how.

I had a Korg Pa700 arranger and loaded the Triton packs into it, very impressed even if they were of a smaller sample size than the original.

Additionally if you up your budget Korg have released a brand new workstation in 2020 in their Nautilus that may be of interest.

Reaction score
While Biggles is right that the Krome hasn't changed all that much since it's introduction in 2012 (i.e. the EX update was modest), it's still a lot newer than your other options, if those are the only three you can choose from. Whether newness is a factor for you is a whole other question. Newer sample sets tend to be more "real" sounding when it comes to acoustic emulations, and may have more sounds that are/were trendy for more recent music/sub-genres.