My Keyboard is out of tune??....

Reaction score
Hello --

Forgive this post, I am just learning to play....

My gf got me a Roland EXR-3 for Xmas last year. I has been sitting for 4 or 5 months as we recently moved and I lost the power supply in the move. When I switched it I noticed it was way out of tune, probably close to half a note. I reseted it to all factory defaults to make sure and still had the problem. Long story short, when I reduce the pitch bender setting to "0", this problem goes away, so it seems that the pitch bender is the problem.

It was a little dusty when I got it out, do I need to take it apart and clean it? The bender moves very smoothly and seems to snap back to center as normal in both directions, so its probably not a spring issue. Any thoughts?

Reaction score
Well, a digital piano cannot really go out of tune, so it must be the pitch bender or something similar. Does your keyboard have a transpose function? Transpose will shift the keys up or down in half steps, so that could be the issue. Other than that, I don't know how it could really be out of tune. Does the pitch bender actually work?

Reaction score
that's right... you can't get a digital piano out of tune, BUT there are a few things that come to mind.

You've mentioned the pitch bend which can be the problem. Maybe it's
dusty or something is stuck inside so it's always half a tune modulated.

Transpose function does the same thing, but there is one more thing...
You probably have a "Master tune frequency" in your global setting (or whatever
that's called on roland). Just check is ti set up to 440Hz. If it's lower/higher then
your keyboard is modulated a bit :)

Reaction score
Sorry, maybe I didnt explain completely. I am almost 100% positive the pitch bender is the culprit. When I reduce the range of the pitch bender to "0" (effectively turning it off), the problem goes away.