My new psych band

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

My names Will and I'm a pianist in England. I've been asked to join a psych band called 'Piranhas Ate My Sister' and have said yes! I'm very excited, but I've never bought anything because I was taught on my grandmothers piano at home.

I'm looking for some new gear and sounds. Keyboard/Synths etc, someone said I need an amp for gigs? what do you think? I sat in a band practice and i think we need a very pink floyd/organ sounding thing. Any ideas, shops or gear?

Thanks

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If you were taught on a piano you'd probably need 88 keys.

What's your budget like?

You could consider a Roland Juno DS61 or DS88 for your main board and something analogue or virtual analogue for the really spacey synth stuff.

Maybe a Behringer Deepmind 6 or Deepmind 12 or a Studiologic Sledge or a King Korg.

Amps will depend on how large a venue you are playing and whether or not the venue will supply a sound system.

At the very least you'll need a decent quality mixer to plug your keys into before they go to the amps.

Like I said, there's a lot of unanswered questions here. Budget, venues, full time or part time, so give us a better idea of what you have to work with and we'll answer your questions as best we can.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Welcome

I agree with Gary especially the DS88.

As for Amps check out Rolands own KC220 which would be OK for practice and small gigs and when you get a larger amp for bigger venues the 220 is a monitor, btw it has an inbuilt mike input so two for one with this one. Its bigger brother the 990 would also be a good choice.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
For a practice amp I'd suggest a Behringer K450FX or for more power a K900FX.

I use a K450FX hooked up to a Juno DS88 for playing in my living room and I love it. The sound is great.

In my home studio though I use a couple of M-Audio BX5a's and an 8" Monoprice Subwoofer for recording.