Need a Keyboard Recommendation

Reaction score
Hi, first day, first time post here. I'm a guitarist, pastor, worship leader, looking for a keyboard recommendation for church. We're guitar driven, very contemporary, full band type of thing.

We currently own a complicated Roland 8 or so years old, 88 weighted keys, heavy as an anchor. It's having a few issues, so we're in the market for something else.

All three gals who play for us have acoustic pianos at home. They don't know much about electronics, but they manage to play this thing.

Here's what I'm looking for: At least 76 keys, as much like piano function as possible. Good piano sound a must, every other sound is secondary. It's got to be easy to operate, not banks and banks of sounds, drums, etc.

We are a portable church, so weight is sort of an issue. The one we have now is over 60 pounds, less would be nice. Not worried about age, an older model is fine. Buying used works for me :)

Does such a beast exist? I hope so, and I hope you keyboard guys and gals can point me in the right direction.

Thanks very much, have a blessed Christmas, Jeff

Reaction score
I thought of Kurzweil right off, because they have such great piano sounds. But I've heard they are overly complicated to operate. I'll have to check this one out.

Thanks for taking time to respond, Jeff

Reaction score
Pastor,

this is basically a stage piano.....i use it all the time and it is not complicated....yes, there synths, are a little complicated....but this one dont have enough buttons to be complicated....it only has 32 sounds....i think 8 of those sounds are piano sounds....this would work good..(as far as non complication is concerned) in a church setting....however, because of the weighted keys it does weigh about 50 LBS

Reaction score