Need a powered speaker for live/rehearsals. 12 or 15?

Reaction score
I’m fairly new to playing keys, but have just started rehearsing with a MODX6 with my band (i was the bass player).
Ive been using the studios PA, but struggling to get a decent sound. I figured I’d get my own PA cab and use it like a backline amp in the rehearsal studio, and as a monitor for live use. Possibly not needed to go through the PA, depending on how loud we are. Our gigs are quite small.

I brought a Behringer KXD15 but it was faulty so it went back. Never got to use it with the band, but it sounded quite nice at home. I wasnt too happy with the weight though so wont go there again,

At the moment I’m looking at a JBL EON612 or 615. Seems like a good speaker, and wont need a mixer when i start to use a second keyboard as it has EQ.

Sorry, now the question. I’d normally go for a 15’’, for the extra bass, but ive been reading that the smaller drivers are more even. I’m not worried about difference in perceived loudness, either will be fine, but I’m finding the piano sounds a bit boxy through the studio PA’s, and wondering if 12’’ will be more even in the lower end. I’m only playing piano/brass/organ stuff for now, and i dont need to play any bass as we have a bass player for that.

I dont see much mention of woofer sizes in these sort of discussions. Any help to make the decision easier would be appreciated. Obviously its down to the individual, I’m just looking for experiences and guidance.

Thanks.

Reaction score
Are you just using the MODX for bass lines?

If you are not then throw away your Bassist head, the audio dynamic range from your MODX is far wider than what you had out of your Bass amp.

Hence a dedicated keyboard amp, monitors or PA system will serve you better overall.