Need Advice !

Reaction score
Greetings All !

I was wondering how to play and cover a song, playing along with the original record in the background.

Apologies if I am not able to explain myself correctly, something of this sort :

Piano Cover: Way It Is [Bruce Hornsby]:

Current Gear : Digicam, Casio CDP 120

Any advice would be a lot of help as in what gear/tech would be required and how to set it up.
Also, any vid links explaining the same would help me too.

Thanks in advance !

k10

Reaction score
Hello Mr Bash,

Sorry if I have misunderstood the question, I am a keyboard novice but do have some understanding of Midi etc.

You may be a long way above the suggestions in my reply. If you are seeking a professional solution, please ignore everything that follows.

So my comments may not help you musically but they may help you to reword your question,

If this is just for your fun and you have a PC, you could download a midi file and a free player that allows you to turn individual instrument tracks on or off, transpose etc.

I use Anvil studio to do this – free and friendly. I am a confirmed novice and there may be many better options.

The sound quality will only be as good as your Midi Sound Source. The one provided with Windows is not nice but might be all you are after for practicing.

Is this what you are trying to do? Perhaps you want a nice sounding copy of the audio with the keyboard parts missing?

It’s also possible to use software that will keep the Midi instruments from overtaking you (if you play too slowly).

Perhaps you have a nice sound source to play the Midi?

Please advise.

K

PS I've assumed that because you live in the IT centre of the world - you use PCs with Linux/Windows and reserve white plastic for toilet seats. If you use an Intel processor on a less common platform - some one else will need to suggest free software that is currently available.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hello Mr Bash,