Need help buying keyboard

Reaction score
I’ve been playing guitar for about three years now and I would like to learn to play keyboard. I listen to a lot of progressive rock and metal, but I am also very interested in classical music. My price limit is about 600-750 dollars, but I would prefer to spend as little as possible. I don’t want to start out with a piece of junk, but something that will last me a while.

A friend of mine recommended to me the Roland Juno-D. One of my concerns is that this keyboard only has 66 keys, and while I’m sure it would be fine for a lot of metal songs, it might not for some classical songs that rely on lower and higher octaves. I’m not sure how the octave function on the Juno-D would work or if it would allow me to switch a whole octave down or up instantly in the middle of a single song (instead of having to press a button 12 times to reach the desired octave, for example). This dilemma makes me wonder if I might be better off just getting a digital piano.

Anyway, what do you recommend? What do you think of the Juno-D? Is there a better keyboard for the price (hopefully with 88 keys) that will give me more of what I want?

Reaction score
Anyway, what do you recommend? What do you think of the Juno-D? Is there a better keyboard for the price (hopefully with 88 keys) that will give me more of what I want?
As others have said on the forums here, you may have problems running of out keyboard, depending on the piece.

The Juno-D does have two handy octave shift buttons, one button to shift up an entire octave, one to shift down. (I think press both to reset to zero shift.) I noticed during my test drive that when changing instruments you often have to shift octaves to move the keyboard back to the same octave layout.

Yamaha has a few 88-keyers in your budget that might serve you well. I think there are some Casios as well.