Need help finding keyboard

Reaction score
I am a guitarist with limited keyboard abilities, have an Ensoniq MR-76 with a sequencer, and a Yamaha that teaches you to play. They are both nice, but looking for something to enhance my sound for writing.

I want to start using arpeggiation, but don't want to sound like everyone else using arpeggiation. With a sequencer, I can sound like a virtuoso. Therefore a sequencer is also paramount. My guitar writing takes me into heavy distortion mostly, so I guess I also need a synthesizer (or want I guess).

I'm in the $2,000 to $4000 range. So far I have looked at a Roland Fantom and a Korg M3. I know you can write your own arpeggio's with the Fantom, and I'm not really sure what Karma and the Combi offer with the M3. As far as Yamaha goes, I have no Idea what that price range has to offer a single finger player (well maybe a little better than that).

Please help me before my Muse leaves forever.

Reaction score
Reaction score
From what I was looking at on the Roland site, the G-70 arranger looks as though it's more for an accomplished keyboardist looking to accompany himself. I didn't see a way to really personalize it to my style for more than a couple of songs. Though very nice, and never even thought of it.

The Yamaha XS didn't seem to show that the player could be much less of a player either. I haven't checked it out live, but plan to now. The arpeggiator wasn't featured much in any video I could find.

For either of them, I didn't see any synth sounds.

The Korg M3 has a synth sound card avail with some Radias sounds (I think), and can have the Radias attached in tandem with the 73 key version. The music store I have access to, doesn't really help with figuring things out, so this is my lack of knowledge for Karma 2 and the arpeggiation it does. And they don't have a Radias to experiment with.