Need Keyboard Recommendations (live/home studio)

Reaction score
I've been playing the keyboard for church praise teams for ten years and I'm looking to invest in a keyboard for my own personal use and occasional gigging. All the churches I've played for have used yamaha s90es/xs or motifs, but I'm terrible at tech and the only functions I really used were the layer/split functions. I have cubase, but what I'm looking for is a keyboard that I could use to edit/create patches, export these onto a computer, and use them on other keyboards.

Non-negotiable:
88 full-weighted keys
easy layering for live performance (4+ voices with onboard volume control)
realistic acoustic piano sounds
warm ambient pads (analog)
able to edit/export patches through midi

I was looking at the Yamaha MOFX8 and Roland FA-08, but I tried them out and I didn't like the action. I was also considering the Roland RD700NX or RD800, which I know are stage pianos. My question is what would I be missing out on by getting a stage piano over a workstation/synthesizer?

Reaction score
Is it true that with the 700 you can only layer two sounds at a time? I looked through the manual and they only mentioned layering two voices, so I wasn't sure about that.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Take a look at the Kurzweil PC3K8 workstation or the new Forte stage piano. Also, don't laugh, take a good hard look at the Casio Privia PX-5S stage piano. Bar none best bang for the buck out there these days in a stage piano/workstation.

Reaction score
Thanks for your suggestion...the PC3K8 looks great, but I feel like I'm paying a lot of money for a board with many functions that I don't really need. I don't see myself having to do a lot of sequencing work...would you say it's still a good value?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score