Need Many answers!!!Please help!!

Reaction score
:confused:First i need to now what is the difference between a keyboard contoller and a synth key board?
what is a workstation?

after i know that i would like some sugestions on what to buy for my my band.

Im a guitarist but am going to get the Gr-20 synth. Wich allows me to plug into any midi interface such as keyboards and play.

Im looking for a keyboard that can produce choir sounds , many instruments, and orchestra sounds!

My band is metal, but we love the sound of orchestras and synths in music.

We also like egyption sounds, and styles.

Chanting sounds too.

Pretty much everything thing that the band symphony x uses

Just makes the band sound amazing.

Any suggestions will be every bit helpful!

Thanks!

-Bart

Reaction score
Hi Bart!

Nice to know you want to sound like Symphony X :p

Well, to answers your questions, when it comes to electronic music instruments, you get many 'things' which performs certain functions and these 'things' don't always have to be the same piece of hardware. The midi protocol is used for these things to communicate with each other in almost anyway that you can think of.

A synth is a module which generally has alot of effects and features for creating and modifying sounds. Generally dedicated synths you find as seperate modules or as part of keyboard don't have latency problems. A software synth on a computer could pose a problem if you have a slow piece or bad software.

A sampler is a module that allows you to record a sound at a certain pitch, and then have that one sound modified to other pitches so you can get the full range of a 'real' sound across the whole keyboard.