Need New Keyboard for Son that has good Piano, Vox Organ and Hammond Organ sounds.

Reaction score
We have been looking at the Korg SV-1, which is more than I want to spend, but I don't think it even has a Vox organ sound. I would like to spend around 1k and he would prefer a new keyboard. I am a guitarist, so I am kinda lost trying to find him the right one. Any recommendations are much appreciated!

Reaction score
Hey there,

I own an SV-1 and it does do a transistor organ, as well as tonewheel organ sounds.

However the organ sounds aren't amazing, I'd only rate them as "ok". Where this keyboard really shines is with its EP sounds, which I note aren't a concern for you. It's probably not the best tool for the job in your case. As you say, it's not overly cheap.

You haven't mentioned the action but if a weighted action (like the SV-1) is important, that's another factor to consider, as different actions have a different feel.

I'm sure some of the others on here will have some good alternative suggestions for you.

Good luck!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Take a look at the Roland Juno DS61 and DS88.

Try one out at a dealer.

I think you'll find it has more than what you are asking for.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Thanks Gary. How is the action on these? He wants the full weighted keyboard. He will be playing jazz and other styles on it. His teacher told us this one was more of a "synth" than a keyboard or piano. Not exactly sure what he meant. Maybe he just meant the sounds available. I'm also a little worried he will get lost in all of the bells and whistles and focus less on his playing with the Juno.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Jim >> The 88 model is weighted hammer action. The 61 is synth action. I own a 61 so I can't speak for how good the 88 action is but Roland has a good reputation for feel.