Need something for orchestra pit work

Reaction score
Hello all! Nice to meet you!

I'm a pianist and I suddenly find myself doing some work in musical theatre orchestra pits. My current (rather old) board is a Yamaha MM8, which was perfect for me (nice piano feel, good sound library, and light enough that I can carry it myself!) until I suddenly needed pre-programmable patch changes and customizable split zones and all the other things a pit player needs.

I've been trying to do some research into a replacement but I have to admit I'm completely staggered by the sheer amount of options out there. Suitable keyboards seem to be labelled as "workstations," "controllers," "stage pianos" or many other categories and I never know which one to look at or what the difference is. So I was hoping to ask some experts!

Things I need for sure are:

--88 fully-weighted keys
--lots of sounds
--pre-programmable patches that I can change with a pedal
--4 or more keyboard zones
--as much polyphony as possible
--Budget: $2000 or less

Something that would also be very useful (though not technically essential) is to be able to load sound libraries in from external sources. Also the whole lifting-it-myself thing; lighter is better!

Things I DON'T need but seem to find everywhere include sequencers, synth engines where you create your own sounds or arpeggios or what-have-you, anything drum-related, and just zillions of other options when I'd rather keep it simple instead. So I was looking at the Kurzweil PC3 LE8 (I do at least know that Kurzweil is the standard for musical theatre pits), which I could get used for around $1000, but I don't need even half of its functionality (or complicated interface!). A friend suggested a Roland RD-300NX which might be better, and I already know I'd like Yamaha too but don't know where to even start sorting through their extensive catalog.

Actually, I'm game for any idea, really, so I'd love to hear any thoughts or suggestions anyone has!