Need Synth with Most Old-School Built-In Sounds

Reaction score
I am a studio musician doing mostly early Nashville country and soul/blues music from the 60's. I am looking for a synth that will get me good horn, drum and string sounds. I don't want to do any sampling and as little editing as possible. I just want a synth, preferably on the smaller side, that has the most built-in sounds. If there is a brand/model that leans more on these genres of music that would be great. I don't do dance, electronica or 80's-90's pop etc, but I realize that many of these synths have sounds from every genre. Also, I like to do drums on the keyboard and I need a click track and some quantitization so can lay the drums on the beat. Does that mean I need a keyboard with a sequencer?

Also cheap is a main consideration! Like under 300 used if there is something. I would prefer a keyboard but maybe a midi keyboard and a rack module would be the way to go?

Thanks for the help in advance. I'm not a piano player!

Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I was with you until you quoted $300...

Pickings are slim in that price range.

Check your local craigslist and ebay for a used Roland Juno G or Juno Di

Maybe a used Korg TR61.

Maybe a used Yamaha MX61.

Those would be the only vintage synths in your ballpark that aren't too old to worry about breakdowns.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
The thing is with a used Synth is that it is not like a used guitar where you can see a warped or twisted neck and worn frets and anything wrong with the pickups is easily sorted.

A keyboard is another matter, you have wear and tear on the keys, dirt build up, potential dry electronic joints nit to mention that the operating system is way out of date so it could easily cost a couple of hundred bucks to get it sorted.

I would up the budget 2x and get a Juno or go the MIDI route and accept that the tones generated maybe a little lacking compared to a proper Synth.

happyrat1