New here, and new to keyboards

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a fairly seasoned "semi-pro" musician. I'm 53, have been playing drums for 40 years, harp (harmonica) for 30+ years, and decided to take up keyboards recently.

I'm in 2 Classic Rock bands, one rockabilly/country band, and "sub" for a couple other local gigging bands. I can't read music (other than percussion stuff), and decided in my old age that I want to expand my musical horizons, and venture forth. I have a day job, (I'm a general building contractor) and am "almost" retired from the working world, and getting more and more into the music scene as I go. live in the NorCal, in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, up in a little town called Paradise.

So here's a question I'm sure has been posted here a gazillion times before here- I bought a simple Yamaha keyboard, and am trying my best to learn it--finding out along the way that keyboards are WAY more difficult than I expected. Without the luxury of having any free time to take lessons, can you folks here help me learn learn to get halfway decent at playing the keys?

If so, I'd be eternally grateful! I've watched a few YouTube vids, have seen a few online instructional vids, and found this forum- hoping that this old dog can learn a few new tricks.

All help, advice, tips, tricks, etc., will be warmly welcomed.

Kudos on (what I've found to be) the best keyboard players forum on the net.

Cheers,
C. P.

Reaction score
Hi C.P. and welcome to the forum.

Sounds like you're still very active on your local gigging scene. Maybe get one of the keyboard player to show you some chords and try to play along with some simple tunes.

Good luck.

Reaction score