New here -- prog keyboard player with Hammond focus but exploring the synth world

Reaction score
Hi there,
I am new to this forum. I'm just starting a band -- it will be inspired by progressive rock but also plenty other genres. Nice to be in this forum now! I have some experience on organ and piano, but barely on the whole universe of synthetic sounds.
So, I hope for some input and inspiration on bringing the sounds in my head to a real acoustic event :D.
Although I have a degree in sound engineering, I am looking forward to getting tips and tricks about your workflow in the creative process.

My setup:
- KeyB II organ (very nice Hammond clone -- nowadays called Viscount Legend -- who knows it and is in for exchanging thoughts on experiences with it?)
- KXStudio (collection of applications and plugins for Linux) --> managing open-source/freeware synths etc. + Midi Keyboard
- Roland FP2 stage-piano -- considering to keep on using as keyboard but with plugin-piano sound
- planning to demo-track with Ardour or Reaper

Two questions to start:
1. Gear/sounds:
I have plenty powerful synthesizers available that offer unlimited possibilities to create sounds (e.g., SynAddSubFX). But to get started, I would require some specific sounds to be able to jam. I like some community-based presets in e.g. the Surge-synthesizer.

But especially, I look for some nice string-like, atmospheric pad sounds. Can anyone of you recommend some (freeware?) plugins that you like?
Or maybe you can recommend e.g. tutorials on creating such pad sounds with an add./sub. synth?

2. Musical/playing technique: