Reaction score
Hello and thank you for welcoming me. I am a beginner as a keyboard player and my goal is to be part of a band and play songs that are not too difficult to begin with. I will be retiring at the end of the year and I want to buy myself a keyboard to play songs known from the sixties to today. Like New Wave, progressive, classic rock, top 40, blues, etc ... It would also be for occasional shows as an amateur musician. What do you think would be the best buy for what I want to do? I'm looking for the Nord Stage 3, Korg Kronos, Roland Fantom, or Yamaha Montage. Thank you!

Reaction score
Welcome.

You write that you are a beginner as a keyboard player, can you qualify that as to if you are a complete beginner or if you have experience of playing say a guitar and you are familiar with music theory?

The keyboards you quote are top end workstations with all the complexities that go with them. Even an experience keyboard player will take a fair amount of time learning the ins and outs of the operating system of a new keyboard and especially if they are unused to a specific manufacturer’s product.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
For someone with aspirations of seriously going on stage in retirement, he'd be fine with a Roland Juno DS or FA08 or a Korg Kross or Krome or a Kurzweil PC4.

As you mentioned, all the models he listed are flagship models and ridiculously over priced and overly complicated for a novice.

He also has to specify if he wants to learn to play with synth touch keys or hammer action weighted piano keys.

But we don't know if the guy wants to blow his kids' inheritance on a $5000 piece of gear or if he's working with a limited budget.

In my household, it's ALWAYS great to save a buck or two :D:D:D

Gary ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Who knows? If the guy enjoys solving puzzles, the Kronos would keep him happily occupied for the next twenty years. :D :D :D

Gary ;)

Reaction score