New to keyboardforums.com

Reaction score
Hello, folks. I'm new to the forum, although I've been playing kb and guitar for many, many years. I've live in the Mississippi (USA) about 100 miles southeast of Memphis, TN where – as I'm sure know – music has always been a big part of our cultural life. Of course, that's probably true everywhere, but certainly no less here.

At any rate, my interest in electronic keyboards is largely for live playing. Here's my quandary. At this point my main keyboard is the simple Yamaha P105, a light weight digital piano with a small handful of decent sounds. I thought I could easily expand my sound pallet by purchasing MainStage and using the Logic X sounds on my Mac. The Korg Nano Controller 2 give me allows much versatility and it all works well. Here's my problem: To my surprise, theLogic sounds just don't translate well to live playing, in my opinion … lack of dynamics, liveliness and responsiveness … just flat and dead sounding. Case in point, my P105 grand sound is much better than any of the Logic pianos.

I'm wondering why. Are hardware synths/stage pianos just that much better for live play? Or would investing in third party instruments help the situation?

Anyone else have the same opinion. Thanks for your input.

Reaction score
Welcome.

Can Insuggest that you download the trial and samples of the Native Instruments Komplete 12 pack.

These are probably the best VST pack available and if the sound quality is not as you want then do report back.

That said the software starts at $200 and the full software is not cheap and you may be better served by a synth/workstation like one from the Roland Juno DS range which starts at $730.

Reaction score
Biggles, thanks for both suggestions. I will check them both out. Just today saw ad for the 88 key Juno and was wondering about it … I thought: That's got to be a different kind of thing than the old Juno.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score