Newby live keys rig question

Reaction score
Hi,

In my band we have a really great keyboard play but he's not got much live experience and we're having some trouble getting his patch levels set consistently.

He uses a Korg Kronos and a Behringer Deepmind, both stereo out into a Roland amp and we take the stereo out of the amp to the PA.

I play keys a little but mainly in the studio for writing purposes - i'm an experienced producer so I'm trying to help hm out.

My thinking is that he needs to set the master volumes of both boards to around 75% and run each board into a mixer with a VU meter (I have a small A&H he can use) - I would then suggest setting the patch levels (not the master) to hit around -6dB on the VU ensuring they don't go above 0dB when payed together - from that point I would adjust each patch for the desired balance and save the patches.

Does that sound like a good approach? ...like I said, I'm not a live keyboard player - any advice would be great!

Reaction score
Yes.

I've spent many hours getting the patches 'leveled' on each keyboard I use so that when I switch from patch to patch the volumes are consistent. Then I ensure that the each keyboard's overall levels are the same using the VU on my mixer that feeds my powered monitor. This way no matter which patch I use on any keyboard the volume levels when switching to them are consistent. -6dB is a good level.

Reaction score
Ultimately there's several ways you can manage this situation but your general approach seems fine to me.