Noob needs recommendations

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I play electric guitar and bass, but I really want a keyboard because a lot of the music I'm writing nowadays seems to be synth/keyboard driven. I'm definitely open to learning how to create or download synth sounds, but I'm basically starting at square one when it comes to the technology. When it comes to technique, I played piano for a while so I'm already well on my way.

Anyway, I'm looking for something that will allow me to play different synth sounds, especially the 8-bit Nintendo type tone (think "Horse the Band's" keyboardist), as well as a decent sounding piano tone. So I don't know if there's something that will come with those sounds, or if I should get something that allows me to create or download my own sounds, then somehow download those onto the keyboard (I said I was a noob, right?).

It would be cool to have the option of creating different sounds, whether that's on the keyboard itself, or on my computer where I would then download them to the keyboard, but this is not a deal breaker. As long as I can download existing synths from the internet, that would be enough.

And what about a "controller?" Is that something I could use to play sounds that I've downloaded onto it?

That's really all I need. It would be cool to have some other features, but I'm trying not to spend much at all. And I'm open to trying out used stuff. In total, I really don't want to spend over $900. So I guess if there was a keyboard that was around $900 or less, that not only came with the synth tones I need, but had the ability to connect to the computer so I could download more, that would be perfect.

Thank you!

Last edited:

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score