Not able to get left hand staff to display notes on Yamaha DGX660

Discussion in 'MIDI' started by Devon, Nov 24, 2016.

  1. Devon

    Devon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am saving a smf 1 midi file from sonar with the right hand notes on track 1 and the left hand notes on track 2. When loaded in to my Yamaha DGX660 it plays the file correctly, but shows all of the notes on track 1 and no notes on track 2. I want to use the lesson features of the keyboard on this file which requires the left hand notes to be on track 2. I have opened the file with Finale and it shows both tracks with the notes on the correct tracks.

    The files that came with the keyboard work correctly.

    Does anyone have an idea of what I am doing wrong here.
     
    Devon, Nov 24, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Devon

    Ted Nicoson

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    106
    Make sure that Sonar has Track-1 assigned to Channel-1 and Track-2 assigned to Channel-2. Normally, in a Type-1 MIDI file, this should be done by default, but with the problem you are having, it is the first thing to check.
     
    Ted Nicoson, Nov 24, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Devon

    SeaGtGruff I meant to play that note! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    615
    Also, Yamaha generally prefers MIDI files to be in format 0-- all channels in one "MTrk" chunk. Song files in format 1 will play, but I'm not sure whether they're 100% compatible with the Yamaha Education Suite. I seem to recall reading that song files should be in format 0 for that. Your DAW may let you choose whether to export MIDI data to a format 0 or format 1 file. If it doesn't, there may be free utilities on the web to convert a format 1 file to format 0. See if that helps.

    EDIT: On page 42 of the manual it says that the song file can be in either format 0 or format 1, so that must not be the problem.
     
    SeaGtGruff, Nov 24, 2016
    #3
  4. Devon

    Devon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much that was my problem. I thought that it assigned the tracks in order, but both were assigned to channel 1.

    For the next person that has this same problem, in Sonar you expand the MIDI track pane to see it's properties. Click on the property box ā€Cā€ and select your channel.
     
    Devon, Nov 24, 2016
    #4
  5. Devon

    Devon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I went with format 1 because I was thinking that I needed two tracks to do two channels. It does work with format 1. I need to educate myself on the midi file structure.
     
    Devon, Nov 24, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.