Novice advice, Juno Gi, best keyboard??

Reaction score
Hey there,
Sorry if I'm repeating any other posts but I've read the stickys and other websites but still feel I need some expert and personal advice! I'm a complete novice to (new) keyboards, and I know I should read up a lot more but I'm getting very impatient to buy a keyboard and get playing! I'd currently looking at the Juno Gi (i.e I nearly bought one today...). £750 is my limit money-wise.

Basically what I'm looking for:
8 track (or 16) recorder - so I can record full songs
Guitar/bass/microphone input - so I can record them
I'm not looking to play live (yet... I'm just fed up with bands)
I really like 80s electronic synth sounds, big organ and hammond sounds, wurlitzers etc.
Any sounds that are not studio-clean. .
I'd like to record my own drum beats if possible - i.e speed up, slow down, do breakbeat style stuff...

Importantly I'd like a keyboard that's easy to use. I have played instruments all my life but have never found the technical side very interesting. So a keyboard I can get great sound from and record easily on would be great.

Finally - if there are not sounds I like, can these be easily downloaded off the net? I heard the Juno wasn't too good for organ sounds so this would be something I'd like.

Thanks for reading, your patience, and any advice you can give!!

Reaction score
Oh and also.....

I thought I could buy a decent 8 track recorder for a couple hundred quid, then a cheap second hand keyboard (i.e Korg Trinity or something...). Any thoughts on this? If its a keyboard with RAM space I can download sounds - is this right?

Or... one of those computer - studios software packages. But I think this may do my head in on the technical side... Although - can you get more sounds this way? Is it worth the hassle?

Apologies for the extra waffle! I just would really like a second opinion - not just from a sales guy!

Reaction score