Playing keys in a rock band

Reaction score
How difficult is it to play in a rock band as a keys player? I'm talking mostly classic & hard rock.

I've been playing keys for 6 months, I can play basic chords & some comps & simple jams. I can't do 2-handed piano-type stuff. I have been jamming with some Deadhead friends, but I don't know if I'm ready for the 'big time'. (local cover bands).

It seems like keys are mostly a backup, fill-in type instrument, except for the 80s which uses more synths.

Any thoughts or experience from rock keys players?

Reaction score
Have a listen to the band Wolfmother they are very keys heavy as far as rock and roll the best way to incorporate keys in my opinion is the organ I'm an organ player in my highschool band and it really sets us apart from all the other rhythym/lead guitar driven generic stuff that is all over the highschool band community

Reaction score
Have a listen to the band Wolfmother they are very keys heavy as far as rock and roll the best way to incorporate keys in my opinion is the organ I'm an organ player in my highschool band and it really sets us apart from all the other rhythym/lead guitar driven generic stuff that is all over the highschool band community

Thanks! I think you're right. I also think a great band lineup would be one guitar and one keybd (also the drum & bass of course.) I think it would sound way more original & cool than the usual 2 guitars battling it out. The "timbre" or texture of guitar & keys are so different, they wouldn't conflict with each other and they could trade leads really well. (Actually, Dream Theater has this lineup.)

When I get accomplished on keys, that's the kind of band I'm going to look for.

Reaction score
Actually, 2 guitars are the best thing you can have in a band ONLY if they are tuned and set-up good. One of them as a rhythm guitar, and the other ona as a solo guitar, so none of them plays the same thing.