Please advise which is better workstation

Reaction score
Friends,

Wishes for all of you,
I would like to buy a keyboard workstation, but I am quite confused between Korg Krome 88 , Korg M3 and Yamaha MOX F8. Please add your genuine advises and recommendations, which key board is best for compositions.

Really I need your help. Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
I can not help you directly, as I have no experience with Korg units what-so-ever, but you may get some questions on the Yamaha unit as you have mixed the names of two different models. The Motif XF8 is Yamaha's current 88 key TOTL workstation that sells for $3600 USD. The MO X8 is an 88 key MOTL workstation that uses the PREVIOUS XS (NOT CURRENT XF) sound engine and sells for $1500 USD. I do not know if the MO X uses the same graded hammer action keybed as the XF, but for the huge difference in cost, I doubt it very much.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
While I have no direct experience with the models you listed, general wisdom favors the Yamahas for natural sounding acoustic instruments while the Korgs are better suited to techno and synth pop styles of music.

One other minor item which could be considered a dealbreaker depends on whether or not you plan to do your sequencing on a computer or not.

While both the MOX8 as well as the Korgs can interface with a computer via USB MIDI, the Yamahas tend to use proprietary drivers which force you depend on Yamaha to write the drivers and support future OS upgrades while the Korgs are USB MIDI Class Compliant Devices which can be used with generic drivers on ANY operating system including Linux.

I've always used Linux on my computers for the past 15 years so Yamaha's lack of Linux support has always been a dealbreaker for me.

Hope this helps,

Gary

Reaction score
musician24

I apologize. I posted in haste and in error. I stand corrected.