Problem with MIDI - Yamaha PSR GX76

Reaction score
Hello!, I'm having troubles with a MIDI to USB Adapter and the yamaha keyboard.. What is the problem?

everytime when i connect the midi adapter in the yamaha , FL studio for example, start to do weird things every second like start reproducing the project and stopping itself, like if i started to press spacebar every second ( is the play & stop button), ramdom notes what i press dons't listening and more things

(other case is in synthesia, when i press one note the program dons't detect the notes anymore)

i opened MIDI-OX to see and in the monitor this was appearing a lot of time:

5b6859d73c.jpg

and when I played some keys quickly this is what i got in the monitor...

ab77084f78.png

3886cbaf24.jpg

c85ade9162.jpg

what can be?, 2 week before i didn't have this problem until now

the midi to usb adapter will the problem?

Greetings

-Kevin

PD: Sorry if i can't speak english very good .. i'm still learning so , advice me where i made a mistake

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Those messages look very odd indeed.

First of all, F9 and FD are-- as MIDI-OX says-- undefined System messages. When you connect your keyboard to your computer and use MIDI-OX to monitor its MIDI messages without playing anything, it's normal to see F8 messages repeated constantly, as F8 is the Timing Clock message. The fact that you're seeing F9 instead of F8 suggests that either the keyboard is turning on bit 0 when it shouldn't be (thus changing the F8 message into an F9 message), or the MIDI-to-USB adapter/cable is faulty. In addition to the constantly-repeating F8 Timing Clock message, it's normal to see the FE Active Sensing message occurring once every so many F8 messages. The FD message that you're seeing looks like it might be a garbled FE message, except in that case the problem is with bit 1 as well as bit 0:

FE = 1111 1110 = Active Sensing