Programming a MIDI Controller to use with Sound Module w/o using Software?

Reaction score
Hello all. I have zero experience with MIDI, or at least did until last week. I bought a Roland XV-2020 sound module from the early 2000's. I've been using my Novation Bass Station II as a midi controller to play the presets on the XV. I would like to be able to access the functions and features of the XV without having to install software and use a PC.

I believe I've read that you can manually map controls for a sound module to a keyboard controller. However, it's not clear to me if that can be done without using software and a computer.

Does anyone know if there is a controller out there with 5 PIN MIDI output that has its own interface that could be used for mapping controls/values? If so, are there any that are ideal for this type of manual mapping? I read that the AKAI MPK series were programmable but again wasn't sure if that meant you can do it with the controller's own interface or if you have to use some kind of software editor. And I'm wondering how I might map controls on the Bass Station II so that I could just continue using it but actually be able to access the controls for the module instead of just playing presets.

I'm probably making this harder that it needs to be but right now I don't have an extra PC for my little studio set up (in my basement).

As you can probably tell, I'm way out of my element here. I'm hoping someone here can give me a clue. If you have any suggested resources to learn the MIDI basics which might help me get a clearer picture of what I'm dealing with that would be helpful and appreciated as well.

Reaction score