Questions from a wannabe

Reaction score
Thanks for opening my thread! I know it can be murder trying to help an ameture. So much the worse that I'm not even quite that yet.

My name is Matt. I'm a long time musician; I've played in symphonies and orchestras in my childhood years as a low brass player. I switched to pop music and classic rock styled outfits in my teenage years in the mid 90s. I played the bass primarily. A little guitar here and there but I was never good on the 6 string. In my late 20s I had an accident which left my lumbar spine in a bad way. I can't really stand for long periods of time anymore and certainly can't hold heavy pieces of wood on my shoulder. I hung up my bass for good about 7 or 8 years ago.

I'll be 36 later this month and I just can't stop the thrumming in my head anymore. I'm supposed to be a musician, you understand. It's not a religious thing. It's just a force of habit, and a well habituated brain to the business of making music. If I don't get this jones out it's going to drive me mad, and nobody likes a mad cripple outside of pirate novels.

I've been thinking about getting a keyboard. While I'm not particularly mobile, I can sit and I can learn. I was thinking about a Williams Allegro 2 or a Yamaha P71 (same thing as the p45, just an Amazon exclusive license). They seem like good entry level instruments that won't break the bank or cause me too much guilt if I prove incompetent to the job. Medical bills, you know? But they seem like they're robust enough for me to grow on. Does anyone have any particular advice about either of these?