Recommendation on Digital Piano

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have recently dusted and brought home from my parents' a very old Casio keyboard that I played for years when I was in my tens and early twenties. It has been around ten years since that. I have been playing now for a few months and I am starting to have fun again, but I think it would be much greatest if I had a board with more realistic tones, specially the piano one, and with sensitive piano-like keys.

Now that I could afford it even if only to spend some of my spare time whenever my wife and children allow, I am thinking in buying a digital piano. The key features I am more interested in are:
88 keys with a realistic hammer-action effect,
very realistic piano tones as well as a harpsichord
lots of other tones: the more and more realistic the better
possibility to split the keyboard into different tones
After some search in the internet I have concluded as my preferred candidates either
  • the Roland RD-700SX Digital Piano, or
  • the Yamaha S90 ES Synthesizer
I am not sure if I am making the good choice with these two candidates, also because the second one is being classified as a Synth that is something that always attracted me very much but I never really knew
about the capabilities of such a piece of professional equipment.

I will appreciate any advice or help from anyone's side on these two boards or any other suggestions.

Thanks and regards,
ManL

Reaction score