Right price for a KORK CX3

Reaction score
First of all hello everybody!

I am new to the forum, and I hope to come back pretty often.

A question for all of you...

I have been playing electric guitar for about 15 years and I have decided to start playing the keyboard. I would like to buy a keyboard which sounds like a Hammond B3, and I have found a vintage Korg CS3 in perfect condition for 500 euros (that is about 650 USA dollars).

Is it worth to buy this keyboard or should I look for something else? 700 USA dollars would be my limit and I would be willing to buy any second hand keyboard which recreates the B3 sound.

Thank you so much!!!

Iván

Reaction score
Hi

Hi,

It is a CX3 from the eightees. One of the old ones, not the new model.

Thanks,

Iván

Reaction score
If it's the 80s one it's not a bargain IMO.

However if you've actually seen it, played on it and you like it - and if it gets you playing and you can buy it now rather than another wait watching EBay or Gumtree or whatever - go for it.

It's got proper drawbars unlike the Nord clones which sound great but have these odd virtual slider things that light up.

If you had a keyboard already I'd suggest a hardware module with drawbars. You might be able to get a Roland VK8M for that sort of money (2nd hand). Any keyboard at all with a midi out will get you going. You can always pick up a controller that you like later - maybe even one of the fancy organ ones that have "waterfall" style keys.

Voce do organ modules too as do Hammond.

Sound On Sound review of the Roland VK8 - the module is called the VK8M.

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/sep02/articles/rolandvk8.asp

The reviewer isn't dying about it but it does a good job IMO.

The search for the ultimate Hammond clone generates a lot of discussion - as does the search for the "best" digital piano (software or hardware) or how far you can be from Dublin and still be served a perfect pint of Guinness.