Roland D50 has no sound or display.Help!

Discussion in 'Roland Keyboards' started by Strat1953, Nov 6, 2018.

  1. Strat1953

    Strat1953

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a D50 that needed a battery.it had display but no sounds.after I replaced the 3 volt battery,I had no display and still no sounds? I check for loose cables,i tried a factory reset.still can not get it working.i was told i may need to reload sounds,but that won't get the display working. I don't want to buy a display if it's now the motherboard.any help would be appreciated.thx.
     
    Strat1953, Nov 6, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Strat1953

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    happyrat1, Nov 7, 2018
    #2
    Rayblewit likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Strat1953

    Rayblewit Love Music / Love Life

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Attached to you with screws?
    :Dray
     
    Rayblewit, Nov 7, 2018
    #3
  4. Strat1953

    delaware dave

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    105
    Sounds like a cable issue to me. Replacing the battery is not going to cause a display issue to happen simultaneously with the battery replacement. Go back in and recheck all of the cables.
     
    delaware dave, Nov 7, 2018
    #4
  5. Strat1953

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    All I know is that on many early model Rolands a dead internal battery can cause total loss of the operating system as well as the internal voices.

    He's better off asking over on Rolandclan to see if this is normal behaviour and if it requires activating the bootloader and reloading the operating system.

    This is a job for experts. It's possible he may have detached an internal cable when replacing the battery but it's just as likely he gave the OS the kiss of death when power was lost and it needs to be reinstalled.

    Either way it could result in display issues just as easily.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Nov 7, 2018
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.