Roland FP-1 parts

Discussion in 'General Keyboard Discussion' started by joram kalfa, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. joram kalfa

    joram kalfa

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an old Roland FP-1 electric piano. I spoke to Roland and they do not carry that part(Transformer).
    I am in the GTA(Toronto area). Does anyone know where I can get a replacement transformer for this keyboard.
    It's crazy to throw it out just because of one part dying.
    Thanks
     
    joram kalfa, Jan 9, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. joram kalfa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,591
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    happyrat1, Jan 9, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. joram kalfa

    joram kalfa

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Gary, thanks for the quick reply.
    You wouldn't happen to know where I could get a service manual. I was thinking of getting a "wall wart" transformer
    and by passing the bridge rectifier. I just need to know the volts that it's looking for.
     
    joram kalfa, Jan 9, 2018
    #3
  4. joram kalfa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,591
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Your resources are the same as mine. If you google for a service manual pdf maybe you'll get lucky :)

    Actually all you'd really need is a good schematic to get the voltages.

    If it's a multi-tap transformer then chances are there are multiple DC voltages in there anyway. In all likelihood at least a +/- 5 and +/-12 or +/-15 I'd imagine if it's standard logic circuitry.

    You'd have a tough time setting that up with a wall wart.

    Actually if you really want to know what voltages are in there just pull the part numbers off of the Voltage Regulators in there. They're prolly 78XX series where the XX is the voltage.

    Gary ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2018
    happyrat1, Jan 9, 2018
    #4
  5. joram kalfa

    joram kalfa

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Gary, I took out the fried transformer and bridge rectifier and mounted a jack on the back of the keyboard for an external transformer/power supply rated at 1 amp. It seems to be working.
    Thanks for your interest.
    Joe
     
    joram kalfa, Jan 13, 2018
    #5
  6. joram kalfa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,591
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    Sounds like you had some luck on your side.

    Glad to hear that it's working for ya.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 13, 2018
    #6
  7. joram kalfa

    joram kalfa

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Gary,
    Do you happen to know if the output jacks for "line out" on the FP-1 are balanced or unbalanced?
    The user manual doesn't specify and I haven't had any luck finding a schematic or service manual for the unit.
    Thanks,
    Joe
     
    joram kalfa, Jan 13, 2018
    #7
  8. joram kalfa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,591
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    If you have it open already easy way to tell is to look at the output jacks themselves.

    Unbalanced jacks will have two or four solder lugs on them while TRS or balanced jacks will have three or six lugs soldered to the main board.

    Either way, plugging a balanced cable into an unbalanced jack won't cause any harm and neither will vice versa.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 13, 2018
    #8
  9. joram kalfa

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,591
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    BTW, if the user manual doesn't specifically mention that the jacks are balanced you can pretty much assume they are unbalanced.

    It's not like Roland to miss bragging rights on a detail like that.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 13, 2018
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.