Roland U20 - Repair or replace

Reaction score
I have been using a U20 for many years. Just recently I have stripped it down to service it due to horrible loud noises on some of the keys. Have also replaced the back up battery and now the keyboard is "dead". I've followed instructions on various forums to try to re-load the factory preset sounds without success. Don't know what I am doing wrong. I have a spare U20 but that is also now giving me the same problems, but at least it works! So, do I persevere in trying to reload the sounds from my computer, or can I export the sounds from one U20 to the other, or is it time to scrap both U20's and replace?
And if replacement is the sensible option, what is out there (used, second hand, budget) that can sort of replicate the authentic sampled sounds in the U20??
I'm open to any suggestions/information!

Sim

Reaction score
Did you ever make any progress on this?

I have a dead U20 in my parent's garage I've been meaning to tackle some repairs on to see if I can bring it back to life.

Even though it was just a rompler, I quite liked the U20 - served me well for quite a few years, and I liked the sounds and expressiveness for live performance.

Reaction score
Did you ever make any progress on this?

I have a dead U20 in my parent's garage I've been meaning to tackle some repairs on to see if I can bring it back to life.

Even though it was just a rompler, I quite liked the U20 - served me well for quite a few years, and I liked the sounds and expressiveness for live performance.