Roland VR-09 sounds “out of tune”?


Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
I have a Korg Kronos, and recently purchased a Roland VR-09 as a second keyboard. However when I play them together, they sound horrendously out of tune with each other. I’m going out on a limb to guess that the Korg Kronos, being expensive as it is, isn’t the issue, so it seems like the VR-09 is the issue. I have attached a video with the Korg on a Berlin Grand and the Roland on the standard rock organ setting. My speculation was that something with the Hammond organ engine itself was the issue, but it is the same for all patches on the Roland.
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,367
Reaction score
3,550
Location
GTA, Canada
I don't even have to look at the video to diagnose this.

First of all either one could equally be the culprit. Only way to know for sure is to check with an electronic tuner or a $5 tuning fork.

Secondly. There's a few probable causes any one of which could be the culprit.

Check your manuals and see if any of the boards have a transpose or detuning feature and make certain it is deactivated.

You could also simply perform a factory reset on the board and that would delete any spurious setting along with all your saved work so back it up first.

Moving on.

If detune feature is not the culprit, then the prime suspect is the pitch wheel/joystick. It either needs to be recalibrated or replaced or both.

A temporary fix is to disable the pitch controller in the board's settings.

I can pretty much guarantee one of these is the problem.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
554
Reaction score
82
Location
South Carolina
I read an older post in another form where several Roland users noted tuning issues because of pitch controller problems. Most found that tweeking the controller and letting it return to "zero" position took care of things. I've experienced similar on a couple of different (non-Roland) boards but would wiggle the controller if they seemed not to be returning to "zero". One of the boards requires calibration every few years , but that is the only keyboard I've ever owned that needed that special attention (EMU Emulator IV). Don
 

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Moderator
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
2,744
Reaction score
1,153
I think that when Gary said "detuning," he may have meant what some keyboards call "fine tuning"? That is, check that the A4 note ("Concert A") is tuned to the same frequency on both keyboards, normally 440.0 Hz.

Also, some keyboards let you tune the specific notes of the scale according to various tuning systems, as opposed to 12-Tone Equal Temperament (ET). So you may also need to check that both keyboards are set to the same type of scale tuning, and (if they're both set to a non-ET type of scale tuning) that they're both using the same "base" or scale root note.

The fine tuning and scale tuning are probably the least-likely culprits, except in cases where a keyboardist likes to play historical pieces using the tunings that they were written for.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
581
Reaction score
164
First of all either one could equally be the culprit. Only way to know for sure is to check with an electronic tuner or a $5 tuning fork.
go to the google play store and for "free" download the perfect piano app to your phone. once loaded, go to the piano, hit a key and compare it to both keyboards to determine if one, or both are out of fine tuning. don't assume it is one keyboard until you've confirmed it is just one.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
I don't even have to look at the video to diagnose this.

First of all either one could equally be the culprit. Only way to know for sure is to check with an electronic tuner or a $5 tuning fork.

Secondly. There's a few probable causes any one of which could be the culprit.

Check your manuals and see if any of the boards have a transpose or detuning feature and make certain it is deactivated.

You could also simply perform a factory reset on the board and that would delete any spurious setting along with all your saved work so back it up first.

Moving on.

If detune feature is not the culprit, then the prime suspect is the pitch wheel/joystick. It either needs to be recalibrated or replaced or both.

A temporary fix is to disable the pitch controller in the board's settings.

I can pretty much guarantee one of these is the problem.

Gary ;)
Sorry for the extremely late reply, I’ve been busy and forgot about this thread. I’ve found out that the Kronos is actually roughly a quarter tone sharp. How would I go about recalibrating the pitch joystick, if that was the problem?
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
8,367
Reaction score
3,550
Location
GTA, Canada
Check your manual to see if there's a fine tuning option as a workaround.

Otherwise check to see if there's a user calibration procedure.

Otherwise you'll have to take it in for service.

Gary ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
I don't even have to look at the video to diagnose this.

First of all either one could equally be the culprit. Only way to know for sure is to check with an electronic tuner or a $5 tuning fork.

Secondly. There's a few probable causes any one of which could be the culprit.

Check your manuals and see if any of the boards have a transpose or detuning feature and make certain it is deactivated.

You could also simply perform a factory reset on the board and that would delete any spurious setting along with all your saved work so back it up first.

Moving on.

If detune feature is not the culprit, then the prime suspect is the pitch wheel/joystick. It either needs to be recalibrated or replaced or both.

A temporary fix is to disable the pitch controller in the board's settings.

I can pretty much guarantee one of these is the problem.

Gary ;)
Yup have a roland vr09 that had a drink spill on controller..there cheap..off pitch with the band and I tapped the controller.went back to standard pitch..cleaned and is ok now
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top