Roland Xps 30 vs Korg Kross 2

Reaction score
I am a beginner keyboardist and want to buy a new keyboard along with a output speaker or amplifier.

Where I live, the local stores only seem to have Korg Kross 2 and Roland XPS 30.

Not knowing much about keyboards, I would appreciate some help on choosing between them.

Sometimes I do live performances of cover songs with my band which is a factor for choosing between the keys.

Also, both of these keyboards don't seem to have in-built speakers like the one I already own (Yamaha). So I would also appreciate some help on getting some kind of output.

The local stores where I live don't have keyboard amps, but, do have a variety of guitar amps. Can guitar amps be used with keyboards? Studio Monitors are quite expensive and I cannot afford one right now along with the keyboard.

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Hi, two posts in three years, that indicates that you have been lurking here for quite a while so hopefully you have a good understanding of keyboards and functions and you have had three years of practice with your beginner keyboard.

As it is I had to look up the XPS as it is not a standard model here in the UK hence it may well be the same elsewhere but If you can advise on the genre of music you intend to play and where in the world you live that can help us give more tailored advice.

I have a Kross 2 but thoroughly tested out a Roland Juno DS back to back against the Korg a few times before I choose the Kross 2, not because it is better than the Juno but because it is smaller and lighter. If I was to buy one for stage use it would be the Roland Juno.

As for amps, you have them therefore a suck it and see situation would be reasonable. That said I would try each amp you have in clean mode and provide the Fx via the keyboard so you can get a good idea about the actual tone of each amp.

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. Appreciate it.