Signal problem - M-Audio Mk3 and Ferrofish B4000+

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So I am new to midi and physical organ emulators, but I have purchased a brand new M-AUDIO Keystation Mk3 and a used Ff B4000+. The B4000+ has been reset to factory settings and appears to be in fine technical state (eg. demo song is playing fine, all fuctions can be altered on the display) and the Keystation works fine on my DAW when usb connected.

However, somehow I cannot get my midi-keyboard to communicate with my B4000+. They are connected from midi-out (keyboard) to midi-A (B4000+), and should both be on the same channel (1). Sound is directed via Phones and plays the demo track fine. The only response I get from the keyboard is when I turn on the power on the keyboard (a little White triangle lights up om the B4000+), but no response occurs when keys a pressed. Volume on both devices is turned up.

Does anyone know what could cause the issue?

I hope I am posting this in the right section and forum.

Happy new year to all and thanks in advance.

Reaction score
On the M-Audio Code series of keyboards the midi out port is disabled as a default. You have to enable the midi out port in the menu. I dont know if the KeyStation defaults this way or not but since the Code did you might want to check. The USB port defaults active but the Midi Out port does not.

Reaction score
Solved (kinda)!
Solution for others wiith the same issue:
1) press Advanced
2) press Midi-out key
3) press Enter key

This seems to activate the midi-out port - Now the Ferrofish is responding!

However, the note of the first key I press is constantly played, and I cannot play any other notes after. This continues untill I turn off the B4000+.

Any suggestions?

Reaction score
Solved (kinda)!
Solution for others wiith the same issue:
1) press Advanced
2) press Midi-out key
3) press Enter key

This seems to activate the midi-out port - Now the Ferrofish is responding!